Reservations

I started working in reservations in 1st April until 3rd June as my final department to work in. I was working office hours during the week and had each weekend off.

The reservations team are a small six person team and we have the responsibilities of taking all hotel and spa bookings along with restaurant and afternoon tea bookings as well. In order to be successful in this role I needed to know a good amount of knowledge about the hotel. This is the reason that I was set to work in reservations as the last department for my placement. It meant I had worked in a lot of other departments and gathered a lot of information that would be beneficial in reservations. During my time in reservations I was able to improve my selling skills by encouraging guests to spend more money on packages and extras which would make their stay that bit more special.

The first area I was trained in was making spa bookings, this involved booking spa treatments for hotel residents and also taking bookings of full spa days for non-residents.  As I was comfortable in the database they used for spa bookings I was then given the tasks of completing resident treatment checks and also completing the spa break checks each day. The resident treatment checks are to ensure that the treatments hotel residents are booked in for are added to the notes of their hotel reservation in order to allow reception to check these with the guests upon check in. The spa break checks are to ensure that all customers purchasing a spa break package; where they have a 60 minute treatment per person per night of their stay, have their treatments booked in prior to their visit. If guests are missing treatments I would then contact them in order to book in the treatment of their choice. A lot of the time when I needed to call the guest for this reason the guests were exceptionally thankful that we had paid so much attention to them and their booking.

Working in reservations enabled me to improve my telephone skills, computer skills, customer service skills and sales skills. I made it my aim throughout my time in reservations to improve my sales skills as much as possible as I had not had a great deal of sales experience in the past. Through repetition and trying to sell to guests again and again I was able to read the guests through the conversation to be able to identify what extras and add-on packages they would be most interested in purchasing. My time in reservations also taught me how important it is to ensure all bookings are correct and to collect as much information from the guests as possible in order to make their stay memorable and of 5 star qualities.

Leave a Reply

